L.A.B Take Home Four New Zealand Music Awards (Aotearoa Music Awards)

and their new album, L.A.B V is out now

London, UK, 23rd December 2021 L.A.B have capped off another massive year, taking home four Tūī at the 2021 Aotearoa Music Awards (New Zealand Music Awards). This comes as the band release their fifth album in five years, L.A.B V.

The band have been awarded Single Of The YearAlbum Of The YearBest Group Best Roots Artist, adding to the two awarded in 2020. L.A.B are the first act since Lorde in 2017 to win both Single & Album Of The Year in the same year, and are the first Independent act since Scribe in 2003 to win Single Of The Year. This adds to the three Waiata Māori Music Awards won earlier this year.

The awards come as L.A.B celebrate the release of their new album, L.A.B V. The album features a band continuing to experiment with multiple genres, while staying true to the L.A.B sound.

Featuring the single ‘Mr Reggae’, the album is out now and available HERE.

The release comes ahead of a summer of live performances across New Zealand & Australia, including headline shows at Hagley Park in Christchurch and at Auckland’s iconic Western Springs. These shows all feature a 100% local lineup, and are set to be some of the biggest shows this summer.

March/April 2022 will see L.A.B finally return to Australia to perform a marquee set at the iconic Byron Bay Bluesfest, and play five sold out shows to over 15,000 people at HOTA Gold Coast (2 shows), Fremantle Arts Centre (2 shows) & more. Ticketing info & more info on shows available HERE.

For interview & media requests:
Sarah Harris/ Ph: +44 7943 091 858 / sarah@dvibes.uk

Winners and finalists in the major categories of the 2021 Aotearoa Music Awards: 
Te Pukaemi o te Tau (Album of the Year)
BENEE – Hey u x
Crowded House – Dreamers are Waiting
The Phoenix Foundation – Friend Ship
TEEKS – Something to Feel
Troy Kingi – The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau (Single of the Year)
Harper Finn – ‘Dance Away These Days’
WINNER: L.A.B. – ‘Why Oh Why’ 
Lorde – ‘Solar Power’
Six60 – ‘All She Wrote’
TEEKS – ‘Remember Me’
Troy Kingi – ‘Sleep (Slumber)’
Te Roopu Toa (Best Group)
Crowded House
The Phoenix Foundation
Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa (Best Roots Artist)
Grove Roots
Tomorrow People

DVIBES specialises in music marketing and promotion covering social and traditional media for project roll out campaigns worldwide.